Your Child’s Love Languages

Posted by on Jun 8, 2020 in Ask The Therapist, Blog From The Experts | 0 comments

Expressing the Love and Support Your Child Will “Feel”

When babies are born, we read books and magazine articles looking for “the magic formula” to ensure our child’s health, safety and feeling love. The journey begins with trying to distinguish their cry, are they hungry, do they need a diaper change or to be held? Identifying and meeting those needs are the beginning of building a foundation for years to come. As children grow up, like adults, children experience and give love in unique ways. Dr. Gary Chapman has identified The Five Love Languages in which he feels we all give and receive love and understanding this provides the foundation for unconditional acceptance of our children. All five languages show love, but individuals may show preferences.


The following are the Five Love Languages and examples:

1) Words of Affirmation

These children “feel” love through verbal expression of appreciation, praise,

compliments and acknowledgement


2) Quality Time

These children “feel” love with time spent together doing things including, watching

movies, participating in activities and even riding in the car to run errands


3) Receiving Gifts

These children “feel” love by receiving gifts. Size does not matter – from small polished

stones, a favorite treat, to formal gifts


4) Acts of Service

These children “feel” love by simple ways of you being helpful, cooking a favorite meal,

washing a special outfit or helping at a special event for school


5) Physical Touch

These children “feel” love by simple touch like hugs, hand holding and kisses

These languages of love continue to strengthen our bonds with our children and others we love.


Written by Celeste A. Mullen, M.A.Ed., LPCC-S, NCC, CCTP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *